History of NAGSA


Native American Grant School Association was established June 4, 1991. The five founding schools were: Little Singer Community School, Greyhills Academy High School, STAR School, Luepp Schools Inc., and Kin Lani Bordertown Dormitory.

Dr. Mark Sorensen of STAR School was the main founding members of Navajo Area Grant School Association in the early stages of the organization from 1991 to 1993. The importance of advocacy changes in 1993, as Ivan Sidney from a Hopi School Hotevilla-Bacavi Community School convinced his school join the Navajo Area Grant School Association to participate in their advocacy efforts. Soon after, the organization changes their name from Navajo Area Grant School Association to  Native American Grant School Association.


The Native American Grant School Association logo has been used as the official logo in the early stages of the organization. The NAGSA logo has representation to the association along with history. The artist who drew the NAGSA Logo was a school board member from Hotvilla-Bacavi Community School, who has passed away in 2017. 

NAGA Logo Offical.jpg

"NAGSA" represents the clouds as teachings from traditional prayers of the tribes.

The rain dripping from "NAGSA" represents the knowledge that our educators teach our students.

With the water source, there is growth in the corn stalk, which is the main food source also for Native American Tribes.

The Five Corn represents the five founding schools that started NAGSA: Little Singer Community School, STAR School, Kin Lani Bordertown Dormitory, and Luepp Schools, Inc.

The Sun represents how a strong school system nurtures student's success.

The Seed represents a student that attends the schools, and how the sun, rain, and air creates a child into a successful individual, which is the corn stalk